New Music: Passenger ‘Whispers’

Passenger’s debut hit “Let Her Go” is still going strong on the Hot 100, but British singer Mike Rosenberg already has a new album locked and loaded for this summer.
Rosenberg — aka Passenger — will release “Whispers” June 10 via Nettwerk.  Fans will get their first sampling of the new set when Passenger debuts “Scare Away the Dark” on “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon” March 28.  The same song will be officially released as a single on April 1. It’s already become a regular song in Rosenberg’s live sets and features anti-technology lines like “we’re all slowly dying in front of fucking computers.” Watch him perform it in Portland, OR below:
The new album was recorded in Sydney with producer Chris Vallejo, who co-produced Passenger’s previous album, “All the Little Lights,” along with Rosenberg. The singer-songwriter says “Whispers” is “easily the most ‘up'” album yet and explains via press release:
“It’s quite cinematic. There are lots of big stories and big ideas. There are also some somber moments about loneliness and death but, hey, it wouldn’t be a Passenger album without those. Mostly though, it’s a really positive album.”
Check out the album art for “Whispers” below:

“Let Her Go” first brought Passenger to the mainstream last year, after it gathered momentum during a long stint on the Heatseekers chart in 2012. The song currently sits at No. 17 in its 33rd week on the Hot 100. It peaked at No. 5 following its use in a Budweiser commercial that aired during the Super Bowl.

Rosenberg, 29, has been performing as Passenger since he was 16. Passenger began as a five-piece band, but morphed into a solo project in 2009. “Whispers” will be Rosenberg’s fifth album as a solo act.
Here is the track listing for “Whispers”:
1. Coins In A Fountain
2. 27
3. Heart’s On Fire
4. Bullets
5. Golden Leaves
6. Thunder
7. Rolling Stone
8. Start A Fire
9. Whispers
10. Riding To New York
11. Scare Away The Dark

Leave a Reply