New Music: Treetop Flyers ‘Houses Are Burning’

Treetop Flyers released their debut album ‘The Mountain Moves’ in the UK on April 29th through Loose Music. Though based in London, the British five-piece – Reid Morrison (vocals/guitars), Sam Beer (guitar/vocals), Laurie Sherman (guitar), Mathew Starritt (bass/vocals) and the band’s lone American Tomer Danan (drums/vocals) – swapped urban England for the picturesque beaches and rolling hills of Malibu, where the album was recorded at Zuma Sound, a studio originally built for Rick Rubin.

Produced by Noah Georgeson (Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom, Bert Jansch), ‘The Mountain Moves’ is a record of hope, honesty and huge choruses. Paying their dues to everyone from The Band and Neil Young by way of Little Feat and Fleetwood Mac, there are also gracious nods towards the more contemporary likes of My Morning Jacket, The Coral and Jonathan Wilson wrapped up this classic country-soul debut.

Opening with the driving ‘Things Will Change,’ the powerful pace of ‘The Mountain Moves’ doesn’t let up for the faultless classic rock of ‘Houses Are Burning’ or the Northern Soul leaning ‘Picture Show’. ‘Waiting On You’ is hope-laden tribute to Reid’s late father, which was recorded six months to the day since he passed away. With its cries of being “stuck down in a nowhere town,” ‘Postcards’ is a Stax inspired doo-wop shuffler of a song about the time the band spent in Denver on their way to LA. The hauntingly beautiful ‘Storm Will Pass’ was finished late on the very last night of recording. In addition to the stunning simplicity of ‘Is It All Worth It’, the delicate ‘Rose’ showcases the softer side of Treetop Flyers, a lullaby that betrays an admiration of the British folk sounds of the 1970s, with whispers of Nick Drake and Fairport Convention amidst the canyon croons.

Treetop Flyers won the Glastonbury Emerging Talent Competition in 2011, playing 6 shows at the Festival that year, and have released two well-received singles. Their first single ‘Things Will Change’ – a re-recorded version of which appears on the album – received support on Radio 1, 6 Music, Absolute, and Xfm, as did second single ‘It’s About Time’, which was released on Communion Records.  Last year, the band signed to Loose Music, the UK home of acclaimed Americana acts including Jim White, The Handsome Family, Dawes, The Felice Brothers, and Deer Tick. In support of the album they will embark on their most extensive tour yet, with twelve UK dates and further dates in Germany, Denmark, Holland, Belgium and France. The album will be released in the US later this year, where Treetop Flyers are represented by powerful live agent Tom Windish.
Having just completed their most extensive UK tour yet, Treetop Flyers are now touring across Germany, Denmark, Holland, Belgium and France. ‘The Mountain Moves’ will be released next month in the US, where London-based five piece are signed to Brooklyn label Partisan Records (John Grant, Deer Tick, Callers).
Treetop Flyers live this summer:
Sat Jun 15              Whitstable, The Bubble Club                      
Sun Jun 23             Bootleg Bar, Los Angeles
Mon Jun 24            Bardot, Los Angeles
Wed Jun 26            Mercury Lounge, New York
Thu Jun 27             Grasslands, New York
Sat Jun 29              Glastonbury Festival, William’s Green Stage          
Fri Jul 12                Southampton Joiners Arms          
Fri Jul 19                Truck Festival, Oxfordshire
Sat Jul 20               Larmer Tree Festival, Bristol
Sun Jul 21              What’s Cooking Picnic, London
Mon Jul 22             Holt Festival, Norfolk
Fri Jul 26                The Secret Garden Party, The Crossroads Stage
Sat Jul 27               Hebden Bridge, Trades Club          
Sun Jul 28              Lounge On The Farm, Kent
Fri Aug 2                Belladrum Festival          
Sat Aug 3               Standon Calling Festival  

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: