Elton John & Rod Stewart Live Duet

Sir Elton John CBE was honored Monday night at the first ever BRITs Icon event which will be aired on Friday, September 13th on Britain’s ITV.

The new award was presented by Rod Stewart who also joined Elton on stage for their first ever live performance together to duet on Sad Songs (Say So Much)

The legendary Elton John, whose achievements include, 35 gold and 25 platinum albums, selling more than 250 million records worldwide and the biggest selling single of all time, Candle In The Wind 1997, played nine songs which included I’m Still Standing, Your Song, ‘Tiny Dancer and two songs from his forthcoming album The Diving Board. Sir Elton’s first full set list below.

The evening was hosted by Dermot O’Leary and included surprise video messages from Ringo Starr, Yoko Ono, Ed Sheeran, Annie Lennox, Emilie Sande, Mumford & Sons, Billie Jean King, David Furnish and Bernie Taupin amongst others. The BRITs Icon Award will become part of the established BRIT Awards stable, but will be celebrated at a separate stand-alone event each year. It will be presented only to iconic artists whose writing, recording and performances set them apart as having made a lasting impact on the nation’s culture, recognising the very highest level of British music achievement.

Before the show Elton John said: “It’s a tremendous honour and a real thrill for me to have my work acknowledged in this way, and I’m really looking forward to participating in what promises to be a very special occasion.” 

Full Set list:

  • I’m Still Standing (from Too Low For Zero, 1983)
  • Your Song (from Elton John, 1970)
  • Philadelphia Freedom (Single, 1975)
  • Bennie And The Jets (from Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, 1973)
  • Tiny Dancer (from Madman Across the Water, 1971)
  • Home Again (from The Diving Board, 2013)
  • Rocket Man (from Honky Chateau, 1972)
  • Mexican Vacation (from The Diving Board, 2013)
  • Sad Songs (Say So Much) with Rod Stewart (from Breaking Hearts, 1984)

Leave a Reply